Why Hoosierhawk

So why is this blog called Hoosierhawk? Well it’s a pretty simple answer, and yet complicated at the same time. The simple answer is that is Hoosierhawk is a combination of my home state and my college mascot. The Longer answer is, I am originally from Indiana, and therefore I was born and raised a Hoosier. Then when I left to go off to college I found my self on the east coast of North Carolina attending, the home of the Seahawks, The University of North Carolina of Wilmington. After receiving both my Bachelors and Masters degree from there, my time as Seahawk as had as much influence on my life as my time in Indiana did.

Hoosierhawk is an amalgamation of all the experiences that have shaped me into the person I am today. It represents the fact that I have been and will always be a Hoosier. I haven’t lived in the state for 10 years, and yet when people ask me where I am from I always say I’m originally from Indiana. Indiana shaped my youth and will always be a large part of my life. I experienced so much during my time in Indiana, and loved growing up in the midwest where with-in an hour drive I was near a large city, a big time university, small towns, and corn as far as the eye could see. It allowed me to have such a diverse upbringing that I’m not sure I would have gotten elsewhere. I think growing up in Indiana really shaped my personality, and made me the a well rounded individual I am today. Being a Hoosier is an important part of my identity and always well be. Like Duncan MacLeod from the Highlander series would introduce himself as “Duncan MacLeod of the Clan MacLeod,” I will always be a Hoosier.

However, being a Hoosier is only half of the story. I have spent the last 10 years living on the eastern coast of North Carolina pursing my education, and that has had almost as much influence on my life as Indiana did. In that 10 years I have gotten married, earned two college degrees, ran a restaurant, and am now I am about to embark on an entirely different career. I would be a fool if I discounted the that portion of my life when trying to describe myself. I became an adult at UNCW, and grew so much as a person, a husband, a worker, and a friend during my time their that I will always be indebted to the University.

So there you have it, the reason this blog is called Hoosierhawk. I look forward to sharing more with who ever reads this blog.

Hoosierhawk

Leave a Reply

